Zoogeographical region

 What are Zoogeographical region? Briefly describe about different Zoogeographical region. 1+5=6

 {tocify} $title={Table of Contents}

Zoogeographical realms are one of a series of major geographic areas characterised by dominant of certain animal groups. The principle realms in the classification of A R Wallace are the Palaearctic, Nearctic, Neotropical, Ethiopian, Oriental, and Australian.

            There are six Zoogeographical regions each more or less embresing a measure continental length mass and all have long being separated from one another by water mountain or desert.

  1.  Palaearctic Region:

This largest region comprises the whole of Europe, Sobiate Russia, Northern China, Japan, Northern Arabia and narrow strip of coustal North Africa. It is subdivided into 
  1. European

  2. Moditarian

  3. Sybarian

  4. Munsurian

Extreme cold of sybarian and extreme hot of Sahara desert are characteristic climate if this region. Desiduous forest large grassland coniphorous forest and mixed forest. Tundra area also present in this region.

Characters of vertebrates founa:

Fishes: curps, selmon, pike are common fresh water fishes of this region 

Amphibia: European salamander, Bombinator, Alytes etc.

Reptiles: lizards, Alligator,

Birds: Artic term present, finces and geese.

Mammals: Among 39 families of characteristics mammals family, dog, wild ass , plar cat deer found in this region.

2. Nearctic Region:

This region consist of entire north America upto Maxico, Greenland and Aleution Island. It's also subdivided into 4 division-

  1. Caliphornion 

  2. Rocky Mountain

  3. Allegheny

  4. Canadian

It also has extreme cold and extreme hot climate Desiduous forest huge grassland, Coniferous forest dry land and Tundra region are prominent ecological zones of this region.

3. Neotropical Region:

This region consist of South and Central America, lower maxicans and west Indies Island. It is also subdivided into 4 subregion-

  • Cilicus

  • Brasilia

  • Maxican

  • Antilian

Most part of this region is covered by tropical dryland only southern part of America experiences temperate climate.


Fishes: 120 genus of 3families are present in this region. The prominent fishes are I'll, cat fish etc.

Amphibia: Cecilia, Hyla, Salamander, Frog etc.

Reptiles: snakes, Aligators, geeko ect.

Birds:  Total 700 genus of birds are recorded in this region.

Mammals: Total 32 families are recorded in this region.

4. Ethiopian Region:

It consist of southern part of the tropic of cancer, most of the African land, southern part of Aerebian and Madagascar. It is again subdivided into 4 subregion-

  • East African

  • West African

  • South African

  • Malagasy 

The areas on the equinoctial line and west Africa poised rain forest along the side of large Rivers. Most of the other parts are dried Desiduous forest. Northern and Southern part of the region are transformed into desert.

         Catefish, lung fish, xenopus, leptorhynchus. Lizards and 67 families of aves are recorded here.

4. Oriental Region:

Most of the Asia countries which are situated at the southern side of Himalaya are included in this region. This region also subdivided into 4 subregion-

  • Indian

  • Ceyloness

  • Indo Chinese

  • Indo Malayan

Most part of the region experiences temperate atmosphere. Annual rainfall more than 1500 mm. Eastern part contain dense rain forest, western part posses desert. Other are having moderate forest.

     Different types of curps, cat fish, salamander, various, types of snakes like vipers, pit-vipers, craits, lizards like camelion, pigeons, owl, rabbits, dog, cat, bear, flying Lamour etc. Vertebrates are found.

5. Australian Region:

These region consist of Australia, New-Zealand, new guinea, Tasmania and some island of adjacent area are included in this region. It has 4 subregion-

  • Austri-Maloyan

  • Australian

  • Polynesian

  • New-Zealand

Hot and temperant both types of climate are present here. Average rain fall in a year is 75mm.

Rain forest, grassland, Eucalyptus forest are prominent ecological characters of this region.

      Lung fish, Osteoglacidos fish, a total of 111 families of amphibia, phitondae, 906 species of birds, Ornithorhynchus, kangaroo are remarkable mammals of this region.

Previous Post Next Post


Photo Ads